Catch me if you can

AuthorTopic: Bugged Maze  (Read 1901 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline webwalkerTopic starter

  • Owner of the post with highest quality
  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1.332
  • my Votes: +37/-8
  • Gender: Male
  • The Rune after "Jah" should be "WOHL!" yes?
    • Poke This Member
    • My Inhabitant Post.
Bugged Maze
« on: November 26, 2015, 06:12:23 am »
Opened the maze.
Ran the WHOLE MAZE until I got back to my starting point!
I saw the cow king once on the edge of my screen.
When I got to where I think he's supposed to be, there was just the square with the two stakes with dead rogues on them.
No Cow King.
No "The King Is Dead".
Since he wasn't there I continued running the maze hoping that around the next corner I'd see him again.

Problem: The Maze is just too big.  If it were 1/4 the size so it was merely tedious not murderously tedious, I could stand it.
Problem: The walls are too tall, I can't see my character half the time.
Problem: Skelliemancer build is at a serious disadvantage in that maze: skellies get stuck on a corner, then teleport to me but arrive on the wrong side of a wall and engage mobs on that side (that I won't get to for a while), so "stuff on the ground" is no clue that I've been "there" already.

Joe: Please either shrink the maze to 1/4 of its current size, or dump the maze entirely and put the King in "A Nasty Place."

Offline Hoerby

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 367
  • my Votes: +5/-1
  • Gender: Male
    • Poke This Member
  • CE-Net Account: Hoerby
Re: Bugged Maze
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2015, 08:27:11 am »
Hi,
never had have problems there, witha Barb,Amma or Paladin.
From the starting point I am running always like the wall at my right side.
This means running from about 20 mins to 2 hours.
The only trouble i had is:
The helper  sometimes disapears and come back at different locations kills the King and I don´t know this.
For this reason i dont enter the maze with a helper(Walkure)
So I have to start again at a new game. But no prob cause mostly i get 2 lvlups.

I wohn im scheena Niedabayan

Offline webwalkerTopic starter

  • Owner of the post with highest quality
  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1.332
  • my Votes: +37/-8
  • Gender: Male
  • The Rune after "Jah" should be "WOHL!" yes?
    • Poke This Member
    • My Inhabitant Post.
Re: Bugged Maze
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2015, 09:14:35 am »
Quote
"never had have problems there, witha Barb,Amma or Paladin" 
Try it with a skellimancer.  Skellies teleport to different sides of various wall (like the Valk did to you) and what's killed where is hard to tell.

For me, 2 hours to get nothing again (level ups stop when you're higher than the mobs by enough) is the reason I usually skip the maze and everything after it completely.

So I list the problems as I see them, and the suggested solutions:
Quote
Problem: The Maze is just too big.  If it were 1/4 the size so it was merely tedious not murderously tedious, I could stand it.
Problem: The walls are too tall, I can't see my character half the time.
Problem: Skelliemancer build is at a serious disadvantage in that maze: skellies get stuck on a corner, then teleport to me but arrive on the wrong side of a wall and engage mobs on that side (that I won't get to for a while), so "stuff on the ground" is no clue that I've been "there" already.

Joe: Please either shrink the maze to 1/4 of its current size, or dump the maze entirely and put the King in "A Nasty Place."

Offline ChaosEmpire

  • 1st CE Player
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20.313
  • my Votes: +515/-120
  • Gender: Male
  • Ich bin hier auf der Arbeit, nicht auf der Flucht
    • Poke This Member
    • My inhabitant post
  • BattleTag: ChaosEmpire#2215
  • CE-Net Account: ChaosEnergy[CE]
Re: Bugged Maze
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2015, 07:13:52 pm »
seems to be a problem by your skellies...like hoerby told you

i assume i cant disallow skellies that porting...or is there somewhere a map, where skellies dont do it,, than i can compare, and maybe do it for the mazte, but then iot may an issue as you stand within them...


CEmail: chaosenergy(a)chaosempire.eu
Chaos Empire® is a registered Trademark of Hans-Jürgen Ohler ©2003-2012

Offline webwalkerTopic starter

  • Owner of the post with highest quality
  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1.332
  • my Votes: +37/-8
  • Gender: Male
  • The Rune after "Jah" should be "WOHL!" yes?
    • Poke This Member
    • My Inhabitant Post.
Re: Bugged Maze
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2015, 08:56:47 pm »
It seems to be skellies, as they're on the wrong side of the wall in Cat1-4 (and elsewhere but I notice it there in POC most because at that low level skellies is all I have and I'm dependent on them).

Having several Cow Kings in the maze would reduce the size in effect; putting one in A Nasty Place would also solve the problem.  As would shrinking the Maze itself.

Offline ChaosEmpire

  • 1st CE Player
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20.313
  • my Votes: +515/-120
  • Gender: Male
  • Ich bin hier auf der Arbeit, nicht auf der Flucht
    • Poke This Member
    • My inhabitant post
  • BattleTag: ChaosEmpire#2215
  • CE-Net Account: ChaosEnergy[CE]
Re: Bugged Maze
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2015, 06:40:03 pm »
shrinking wont be an option, as this means to do this massive work again roim scratch

several cow kings will lead to one thing...the first you visit makes the others dissappear...

If one of your skellies jumps into the reach of one , this can cause to make the next reachable unavailable, so you maybe need to run several times through the maze ....so also not the best idea...


CEmail: chaosenergy(a)chaosempire.eu
Chaos Empire® is a registered Trademark of Hans-Jürgen Ohler ©2003-2012

Offline webwalkerTopic starter

  • Owner of the post with highest quality
  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1.332
  • my Votes: +37/-8
  • Gender: Male
  • The Rune after "Jah" should be "WOHL!" yes?
    • Poke This Member
    • My Inhabitant Post.
Re: Bugged Maze
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2015, 11:17:31 pm »
Meeting the first cowking and having the others disappear is not bad.  The maze is effectively smaller with several cowkings.  Also not bad.
If my skellie kills the on the wrong side of a wall, I know to remake; if the maze is effectively smaller then I know to make a new maze sooner (also not bad)

What about putting the cow king in "A Nasty Place"?

Offline ChaosEmpire

  • 1st CE Player
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20.313
  • my Votes: +515/-120
  • Gender: Male
  • Ich bin hier auf der Arbeit, nicht auf der Flucht
    • Poke This Member
    • My inhabitant post
  • BattleTag: ChaosEmpire#2215
  • CE-Net Account: ChaosEnergy[CE]
Re: Bugged Maze
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2015, 09:24:32 am »
you did not get me...

it can get killed in a corner, you dont notice, and it maybe a place where you already have been, or where you will be nearly a the end, so all disappewaring could be more near than this one...


CEmail: chaosenergy(a)chaosempire.eu
Chaos Empire® is a registered Trademark of Hans-Jürgen Ohler ©2003-2012

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
14 Replies
2876 Views
Last post December 24, 2007, 02:53:35 am
by webwalker
4 Replies
1340 Views
Last post March 31, 2006, 10:27:21 am
by GetFuzzy
4 Replies
1328 Views
Last post May 03, 2006, 12:43:53 am
by ZenPdH
2 Replies
1196 Views
Last post October 05, 2009, 10:42:33 pm
by Rune
4 Replies
1443 Views
Last post June 26, 2011, 01:06:35 am
by webwalker