AuthorTopic: CD-ROM drive error  (Read 7358 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline violettTopic starter

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • my Votes: +0/-0
    • Poke This Member
CD-ROM drive error
« on: August 23, 2018, 09:17:31 pm »
Cant start CE for already 2 days. Have tried 1.14 version with fixpacks, 1.11b version, 1.07 version - all the same. When I activate CE it shows me "Check if you have expansion disc in your drive". With CE deactivated I can start the game, with CE - not. Nothing helps - nocd patches, loaders, mpq files from the disc copying. Any solution?

Post Merge: August 23, 2018, 09:51:09 pm
Last try: patch 1.10, run as administrator - it just wont start :-\ I give up

Post Merge: August 23, 2018, 10:31:46 pm
Any chance to get WORKING PATCHED Chaos Empire game to download somewhere?

Post Merge: August 23, 2018, 10:32:19 pm
« Last Edit: August 23, 2018, 10:32:38 pm by violett »

Offline admin

  • Administrator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 330
  • my Votes: +9/-14
  • Gender: Male
    • Poke This Member
Re: CD-ROM drive error
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2018, 09:31:09 am »
never use a diablo version above 1.13d as they removed DLLs from directory

the download form the ce servercontains everything to patch a LOD game patched to 1.08 up to 1.13d to its needs (1.10)
also ce comes with a nocd loader
sometimes it has issues, so some people have LOD in a virtual/real drive to start

Offline violettTopic starter

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • my Votes: +0/-0
    • Poke This Member
Re: CD-ROM drive error
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2018, 06:53:09 pm »
Danke. I got it work after a while, only windowed though :(
It would be much easier though if you just upload complete activated version of the game to your server.

Offline Jrl561

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • my Votes: +0/-0
  • Put your name here
    • Poke This Member
Re: CD-ROM drive error
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2018, 03:17:05 am »
Im having a problem with this error too, i cant get past it for anything. I even have virtual drive mounted.

Offline admin

  • Administrator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 330
  • my Votes: +9/-14
  • Gender: Male
    • Poke This Member
Re: CD-ROM drive error
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2018, 10:41:39 am »
hacve you tried another graphic mode setting?

Offline Jrl561

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • my Votes: +0/-0
  • Put your name here
    • Poke This Member
Re: CD-ROM drive error
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2018, 08:38:21 am »
The only graphic modes ive tred are the ones it ask me to do when installing, Ive tried both the graphics settings the 2d and 3d I get the same error constantly. Ive tried to reinstall multiple times It just doesnt want to work with me.

Offline admin

  • Administrator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 330
  • my Votes: +9/-14
  • Gender: Male
    • Poke This Member
Re: CD-ROM drive error
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2018, 12:08:02 pm »
when the mod is installed and activated, you can run d2vidtest and choose also 3dgfx mode, which is done by the opengl wrapper, this can also be configured, window only and lot more, some people fix there issues by switching between the 3 modes

i assume, you didnt installed diablo into program folder, and its the folder you choosed during install

Offline Jrl561

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • my Votes: +0/-0
  • Put your name here
    • Poke This Member
Re: CD-ROM drive error
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2018, 08:34:45 pm »
When i go into the folder and try to run the D2VidTest it says this app cant run on this computer, Im using windows 10

Offline ScoobyD

  • Depp vom Dienst
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10.312
  • my Votes: +84/-6
  • Gender: Male
  • Einfach nicht beachten.
    • Poke This Member
  • CE-Net Account: ScoobyD
Re: CD-ROM drive error
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2018, 05:16:14 pm »
Start the game with -3dfx to use the warper

Vidtest (patch 1.10) don't runn under win10
Mein Hobby: MSC Ober-Mörlen

Offline StoopidMonkey

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • my Votes: +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • Poke This Member
  • CE-Net Account: StopidMonkey
Re: CD-ROM drive error
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2019, 01:45:30 am »
i have this problem sometimes i fixed mine though the wraper

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
Teddy [ERROR]

Started by hyp German Support

12 Replies
2039 Views
Last post August 27, 2004, 01:36:12 am
by OmnipraesenZ
2 Replies
1419 Views
Last post November 12, 2004, 10:32:45 pm
by drehstoff
3 Replies
1721 Views
Last post September 13, 2005, 09:58:36 am
by DrowElf
9 Replies
1914 Views
Last post May 12, 2006, 03:52:23 pm
by fragipani
1 Replies
1486 Views
Last post November 10, 2007, 09:23:06 am
by RafaWu